Goodbyes, Emergency Room & Miracles

I don’t even know where to begin this week!

Well, I took what you said to heart and I worked 110% this week. I don’t think I’ve ever worked harder in my life. I was a bit unfortunate, though, because I got a bladder infection out of the blue and I didn’t want to cancel any appointments, so I just bought a gallon of cranberry juice and drank it. It started getting worse where it hurt for me to stand–(which I still thought was okay because who needs to stand when you are teaching investigators or with members, right?), But Wednesday night it got really bad, and my mission President finally sent me to the Emergency Room at 11:30.

It was crazy! The emergency room in Korea at 12 AM is a blast by the way- unless you’re way sick, then….yah, you are in a lot of pain. I thought I was in pain- I was writhing and crying, but I was definitely not the most hurt person there. There was someone that looked like he had got shot in the eye, another girl that was pale and couldn’t walk by herself, another lady had some nice cuts on her face and blood and bruises on her body, and a person was wheeled by us as we were waiting whose whole shirt was stained in blood. We spent about 3 hours there before they got the test results and some medicine for me (it fixed me up pretty quickly so you don’t have to worry about me now). It was definitely an adventure, though.

I learned that no matter how much you think you are suffering, there is probably someone that feels a little worse than you. So why not try making them feel better? It was hard in the Emergency room when I was the sick person, but I tried to think of Christ and be more like Him. A nurse had been very serious and a little stressed looking before, and I gave her a compliment (I was buckled over because of the pain so it was about her shoes), but it completely changed her whole countenance. She smiled and it just lit up her whole face. It wasn’t much, but it was the best I could do then. Even though I was in pain, I felt the comforting peace and love from the spirit.

I’m better now, by the way:) Nothing to worry about now.


What was more painful than going to the hospital, was going to my 영등포 ward for the last time. It broke my heart. They asked me to give a last talk, and I don’t think my whole time on my mission could have prepared me for the feelings I had as I went up to the podium and looked at the faces of the ward I have worked with for the past 8 months.

I saw every member and I felt like I have come to know them so individually the past months; the deaf members, my recent converts, the less-actives who have started coming back to church, and everyone else that I love so much smiling at me. I looked at them and I just felt so much love for them. I don’t know how I can leave them.

I looked and reflected on everything that has happened in 영등포 and throughout my mission here in Korea. I have grown so much, learned so much, and developed a personal relationship with my savior Jesus Christ. And yet I wish I could do something more to serve the people here, but I’m not sure what.

I know that I served the Lord and worked my hardest. It’s going to be so hard to leave this beautiful country and the food and the people that I love so much here, but I know that a release as a full-time missionary is just a call to serve as a life-long missionary.

I’m excited that this isn’t the end.

❤ Sister Stastny

