Rainy Season

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
Rainy-ness

Rainy season has begun! It got really hot and humid one day, and the next day it began to rain and it’s been raining ever since! Even though we always have an umbrella, somehow we always end up at our destination wet. It’s been a lot of fun, though.

This week I heard an analogy about a master that asked his servant to push a rock for him. This man put all his effort into it and pushed and pushed and pushed the heavy rock, but couldn’t get it to move even an inch. He kept on pushing without success and became frustrated and discouraged. With a feeling of failure, he returned to his master and asked him how he expected him to move the rock. The master wisely replied, “I never asked you to move the rock, I just asked you to push the rock.”

Sometimes, we like the servant, think that our success is based upon some outside factor, (for instance in missionary work, this could be thinking that success depends upon how many people accept your message); when in actuality our success is based upon how much we are pushing (how much we are trying and desiring to work our hardest and be obedient everyday). I really love that.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
Rainy season

This week included my last zone training where I had to give my 마지막말씀(goodbye testimony-thing), learning 수화 (we have a ASL speaking family in our English branch now so I’m learning that and KSL), having the opportunity to meet with some members and practice our Korean, and teach our recent convert about charity. I also ate bab-burger–which is like Korean’s version of a hamburger (the patties are rice and in between is kimchi and yummy Korean meats). Oh it is fantastic! 마시당! yumm!

❤ Sister Stastny

