Charity

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
Pretty sky out our window

This week I had a lot of opportunities to ponder about what charity is and how it has been manifest in my life. First off, I was thinking about how much Heavenly Father loves all of His children.  He loved us so much that He sent His son Jesus Christ so we could all become something better than we were through the Atonement of Jesus Christ.  I think the Atonement of Jesus Christ is the greatest manifestation of love ever to be in the history of the world.  Every time I apply the Atonement in my life, I am filled with a love that is just bigger than myself, and I want to in turn share it with everyone!

Next, I experience the pure love of Christ when I talk to people on the streets and subways.  There are lots of people that we talk to that simply don’t like us because we’re missionaries, Christians, or representatives from the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.  I realize that regardless of how people treat us or accept us and our message, I love them anyway.  It doesn’t make any sense really. Rejection, lies, unkind words, or looks can’t put a canker on the love we find for Heavenly Father’s children.  I always find a love that seems outside of myself for everyone I talk to; and I know that charity is truly a gift from God.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I also see charity manifest every week through the actions of others. Our deaf members each week lovingly lead a man who is both deaf and blind around the church to his seat. They keep an arm around him to let him know they are there.  They take one of his hands and write with their finger what is being discussed during Sacrament meeting, and form his hands into familiar signs that he knew before he lost his sight to communicate with him.  They lovingly and selflessly serve him; even though they too are in need of other’s help and assistance.  Every time I see them I can’t help but think of the scripture found in Moroni 7:45, 47

Charity suffereth long, and is kind, and envieth not, and is not puffed up, seeketh not her own, is not easily provoked, thinketh no evil, and rejoiceth not in iniquity but rejoiceth in the truth, beareth all things, believeth all things, hopeth all things, endureth all things…Charity is the pure love of Christ.

I love you all so much and hope you have a wonderful week!

❤ Sister Stastny

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
Bingsu–Love it!

Funny Quote of the Week: “What does Kangaroo taste like- it tastes like horse!” ~Sister Tui

