Missionary Joy

안녕하세요!

This week was great!  The MERS epidemic panic is slowly dissipating and the weather is getting warmer and warmer everyday. Apparently typhoon season is just around the corner, so we’re starting to get ourselves prepared for the fun rain!

If I haven’t said so lately, serving in Korea is fantastic!  I love being a missionary here with all my heart!  Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about how my view of missionary work has changed since the start of my mission.  Before my mission, I used to think that missionary work was inviting others not of our faith to come and learn; but on my mission I’ve learned that it’s so much more than that.  Missionary work blesses everyone–it’s inviting and helping everyone to come closer to Jesus Christ.  It brings us closer to Christ, and because we experience the happiness and love that comes from living the gospel, we in turn want to help everyone–regardless of who they are, how long they have or haven’t been in the church, their position, calling, race, or economic status–experience the joy and peace that can only come from following Jesus Christ.

Missionary work changes lives and saves souls.  It’s changed my life.  My hopes and dreams in life have changed to fit a beautiful eternal perspective.  I’ve realized that I can’t possibly just live complacently and strive for worldly success when I could spend a lifetime courageously following my Savior and seeking to serve Him and His children.  How could I not want to help others after Heavenly Father has so mercifully helped me so much?

I realized that this week as I began a simple conversation with a lady who looked like she had just finished work.  She looked like a very important business woman who had more than enough to provide for her needs and wants. She was very kind as I began talking to her and seemed really interested in why I was here.  She couldn’t believe why anyone would leave their schooling opportunities back home to pay to go on a mission.  I had to admit that it did seem a little crazy looking at it from that perspective, but I testified that the Gospel was worth more than anything that could possibly be obtained in this world.  It had changed me so much, and brought so much hope into my life, that I couldn’t possibly just be complacent and not share it with others.  As I testified, I knew that there was no place I’d rather be right now than here, serving as a missionary and sharing the gospel.

I know that the Gospel is amazing.  God is amazing!

❤ Sister Stastny

