New Year & New Area

HAPPY NEW YEARS!!! (enjoy the video to see how we celebratedㅎㅎ<ha ha)

(Missionaries have to go to bed at 10:30…so we were pushing the celebrating at 10:27) In Korea, Solar New Years (what we just celebrated), is not as big as Lunar New Years (which is usually in February). Anyway, I think that’s fun.  Because solar New Years hit, I’m  now 22 !!  Boo-yah.

So with this New Year’s I got a new area and a new companion!!! I’m going to an area called 영등포 (Young-deung-po) to be with a younger missionary named Sister L. (I actually met her last P-day when we went to the Peace Observatory)!  She’s adorable, I’m so excited.  영등포 has a pretty big church and is the center of our mission (it’s usually where we have conferences and mission trainings and anything else that requires lots of space).  I’m not sure exactly what I’ll be doing there, but I know that they have one of the only English wards in Seoul as well as Korean wards…so we’ll see what it brings!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
At the Peace Observatory–just sort of awkwardly looking out of binoculars

This year I decided that I would take some time to make some New year’s goal before New Year’s.  Among some of them I have to eat Kimchi a little more everyday, work my hardest and have fun with the rest of the time I’m given on my mission, and finish reading the Book of Mormon in Korean (I’m in 2 Nephi, so I think I can finish it before the end of the year).  I’m excited for everything this year has to bring and for the opportunity to learn and improve a little more everyday as I serve as a missionary.

At the N. Korean Peace Observatory--sort of foggy so it was hard to see anything
At the Peace Observatory–foggy, so it was hard to see anything

I know that this church is true and I love being a missionary to share the good news–the gospel of Jesus Christ.  Everyday as I read the Book of Mormon and pray I feel a confirmation that Heavenly Father truly lives and loves us and nothing could mean more to me.  I know that the Gift of Tongues is real and that words truly will be given to you in that you need them, and that those words (no matter how simple or profound they may be), will be carried to the hearts of those that need them through the Holy Ghost.

Went on an exchange with one of the sisters and found some chopped pig heads to pose with:)
Went on exchange with one of the sisters and found chopped pig heads to pose with

God lives and loves us, and I love you too!

❤ Sister Stastny

 

