Thanksgiving in Korea

Twas the night before Thanksgiving, and all throughout the day, only Kimchi was eaten, in almost every single way…plain Kimchi, fried Kimchi, Kimchi boiled in a stew, Kimchi eaten with hot rice, Kimchi eat with cold rice, and extra salty Kimchi..).

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
2/3 of our fridge is filled with kimchi

 

It’s Kimchi season and oh do we have a lot of Kimchi in our house! So let’s just say I felt a little sick when Thanksgiving day actually rolled around. But I still ate some 김치찌개 (Kimchi stew) for lunch, and some nice 칼국수 (kar-gooksu) (I’m not exactly sure how this is explained in English but it’s like Korean chicken noodle soup with yummy homemade noodle). The good news, is I didn’t have to worry about gaining a million pounds from my Thanksgiving feast haha!

I think I eat more kimchi than Koreans do
I think I eat more kimchi than Koreans do

To be honest, more people knew when it was Halloween, than they did Thanksgiving day. Korean’s Thanksgiving (Chuseok) is on a different day, so it kind of just felt like any other day…which is great because any day as a missionary is awesome!!

So that was my Thanksgiving! Also, all the missionaries threw a Thanksgiving culture night for our Stake on the weekend. That was fun! We made pilgrim and Indian hats, decorated lanterns, made fortune cookies, Indian bracelets, did face painting (that was my job), and practiced our American archery with a homemade deer target…can’t get more Thanksgiving than that! It was so fun! I loved hanging out with all the people in the stake and meeting member’s friends and family. It was a great opportunity to meet lots of people.

Mission Moments:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Sister L and I are loving life in Gimpo. We are getting to know and love our ward a little more each day, and we are really blessed with lots of opportunities to teach people about the Gospel. I know Heavenly Father is watching over us and blessing us a lot. I’m so thankful to have this opportunity to share what I love the most every day–the GOSPEL!

Keep on keepin on!
❤ Sister Stastny

