The little things matter

안녕하세요!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
My birthday package! Yeah!!!

First off, I’m probably the luckiest person in the world!  I can’t believe I get to spend my 20th birthday in Korea. And it’s a P-day so I can eat some cake, go to some fun places, and talk to everyone in my path (because that’s what I love to do as a missionary). Also, I’m still 21 in Korean age (I’ll turn 22 in the New Year’s)…but I’m 20 now in American age!!  Age is confusing.

Anyway, this week I learned that the little things do matter.  We are always doing a lot as missionaries–talking to people, teaching those who want to learn, serving others, uplifting others, and spending time with the ward.  Sometimes, it seems like the little things don’t matter or mean much to people, but I learned that they do.

This last Sunday, during Relief Society, there was a discussion about inspiration.  One of our lovely members (who we had visited a couple weeks before and shared a quick message with that we hadn’t prepped beforehand) talked about how she felt really strongly that the scriptures we shared was pure inspiration from God to her.  I remember that we had originally planned to practice teaching a principle with her (so she could help us with Korean), but because time was running short, our plans didn’t work out so we shared a scripture instead.  The scripture was small, and it didn’t seem like much to us at the time, but she said it really meant a lot to her.  It taught me that the little things that we do to help people come closer to the Savior really do mean something.  No effort to do good is ever wasted…and I truly mean and believe that.

I also learned from that experience that Heavenly Father always provides a way for His work to get done.  Our plans may not always work out as prepared, but the Lord’s plans are never frustrated.

Mission Moments:

It was temple week!  I love that I have the opportunity to go to the temple every 6 weeks in my mission.  Such a blessing.  The temple is a place of peace and love.  I always feel strengthened when I visit it.

One of my favorite Korean desserts–bingsu!  MMM…

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Yesterday we were fasting…but my companion cooked brownies (for the nighttime) and put them right in front of me to see how much will power I had!!  AHHH 유혹! Big temptation, but I resisted (thought you might like the picture though…hehe)

I love being a missionary and I feel so blessed to share what I love most (this Gospel of Jesus Christ) with others!  I know this church is true and that God does live and love all of us individually.  I wouldn’t be a missionary if I didn’t feel that undeniably in my heart and soul.

❤ Sister Stastny

