Talking to EVERYONE

This week I went on an exchange with my Sister Training Leader and she taught me a lot about the importance of talking to EVERYONE!  She is amazing Korean, and taught me a lot through teaching and talking to everyone on the street.

There isn’t ever a shortage of people in Korea.  On average, I would say we run across (AT LEAST) 100+ people a day.  There are lots of people, but talking to everyone isn’t always the easiest.  They can be busy; they can run away half way through a sentence to catch a bus; they outright ignore you; or be rude to you…BUT the blessings that happen from talking to everyone always outweigh the worries.

While I was on my exchange, my Sister Training Leader said “Annyeonghaseyo!” (hi) to a lady walking down the other street.  After this lady passed, my Sister training leader all of the sudden jumped around, came back to the lady and started talking to her.  At first, the lady looked uncomfortable and uninterested, but as my Sister training leader kept talking (naturally and kindly), she began to ease up, and start asking questions.  In the space of about 2 minutes, the whole disposition of this woman changed and she invited us into a cafe, bought us hot chocolate, and asked us to teach us more about our church..(so we taught everything about 예수님의 복음의 회복 The Restoration of the Gospel of Jesus Christ).

It was a big testimony builder about the importance of talking to everyone and to not be discouraged if they initially seem uninterested.  The lady was so grateful that we had talked to her, because she did (and still wants to continue meeting) to learn more about the Gospel of Jesus Christ.

I asked my sister training leader what she had thought to make her turn around and talk to the lady, and she told me, she just felt a big duty to talk to everyone that God placed in her path, and at least give them an opportunity to learn about the Gospel.   That really touched me.  So since then, one of my goals has been to talk to everyone that God places in my path, and not let rejections stop me from inviting everyone else to hear about our happy message. 🙂 I know Heavenly Father has been blessing me to know what to say to different people (and how to say it in Korean) ever since I made that commitment.  I feel really grateful for that.

Mission Moments:

In other news, we had our primary program this week at church, and my heart just completely melted.  Korean children are the cutest.  We had lots of people show up to see the program that hadn’t been to church in a long time and they all left with a big smile on their face.  Children are just the best at inviting the Spirit in with their honesty and sincerity in their love for Jesus Christ.  I loved it!

Here’s a video of some girls in our ward (who were in the hanboks in the front in the I Love To See the Temple video–at about :50). I love it!

I hope you have a good week! love you!

❤  Sister Stastny

