Spiritual Miracles and Stomach Flu

So before I begin, I did not have the stomach flu this week…but my poor companion did. 😦 We aren’t sure how she got it–because we eat the same things and do the same things, but she got it..and she got it pretty bad.  We spent 3 days of our week inside while she was sick, (and I think she spent most of that time in the bathroom).  For me, it was a good time to serve and help my companion, as well as do lots of the seemingly monotonous aspects of missionary work that often get procrastinated (such as organizing our member book, updating addresses and phone numbers, then adding addresses and bus routes into our phone).  It may not seem like much, but I was busy doing a lot of those things for three days and I didn’t even finish!!  It was good though to have something to do, and now Sister T is completely better so that is the best thing!

Our miracle happened this week as we went to visit a lady that has been less-active for quite some time.  I hadn’t met her before this, but I know that lots of missionaries have met with her and there hasn’t been much progress made.  As soon as I met her, I just felt this giant love for her, and I knew that it wasn’t just my love, but God’s love for her, too.  We had planned to teach a different lesson than planned, but because of time, we decided just to share a good scripture–2 Nephi 31:19-20.

19 And now, my beloved brethren, after ye have gotten into this strait and narrow path, I would ask if all is done? Behold, I say unto you, Nay; for ye have not come thus far save it were by the word of Christ with unshaken faith in him, relying wholly upon the merits of him who is mighty to save.

20 Wherefore, ye must press forward with a steadfastness in Christ, having a perfect brightness of hope, and a love of God and of all men. Wherefore, if ye shall press forward, feasting upon the word of Christ, and endure to the end, behold, thus saith the Father: Ye shall have eternal life.

We read that together and talked about the importance of enduring to the end–how it can be difficult, but the blessings in store for us outweigh any of the difficulties we might face.  We were talking about this, and she was nodding her head, but we weren’t sure if she was really taking it in.  As we were about to finish, I felt really strongly that I should testify about something.  The Spirit didn’t tell me what I needed to testify about, but I knew I had to.

The one thing I knew absolutely at that moment was that God loved her.  It seemed so simple, but I told her that God loved her and I knew that from as soon as I met her.  After that, she began to open up to us about how she felt like a bad daughter to our Father in Heaven because she hadn’t been enduring to the end and doing the things He wanted her to do.  She said she didn’t know if God loved her.

Sister T and I were able to testify that God loves her and that love is there for her whether she thinks she deserves it or not.  We told her it’s like a parent (like her, since she has kids).  Even though her kids may not do everything she wants, she still loves them.  She will be sad when her kids make a wrong choice, but she will still love them.

After we told her that, she, not us, decided to make goals to begin reading the scriptures and praying daily.  It was such a miracle!  After the lesson, we got out and prayed, thanking our Heavenly Father for allowing the Spirit to teach her and touch her heart to choose the right.  It strengthened my testimony that the Spirit is the one that teaches and changes people…not us.

I’m excited to see what miracles happen this week!  Missionary work is the best!  I know it is truly the Lord’s work and I love being a part of it!

❤ Sis. Stastny

