Blessed through Trials

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
Hahaha, I’m not going to say that we weren’t studying, but I am going to refer you to page 20 in “Preach My Gospel” if you want to see why we took this picture.

This week has been pretty hard, but Heavenly Father has been blessing us a lot through our trials.  We started meeting with three new people who have Gospel interest and who also happen to be fluent in English.  Two of them (a husband and wife) are hakwon teachers. A hakwon (I think that’s how you romanize it) is an after-school school.  I love Korea.  They’re so studious with their schooling.

They just approached us on the street one day and started talking to us (in English) about how they really like our church, and we were like, “Well crickey’s” (I have an Asian-Australian accent now). We met with them a couple days later.  They love learning and teaching, so we gave them the Restoration pamphlet in Korean and gave them an assignment to translate and teach it to us next time in English.  Haha!  I really like that assignment.  They were pumped about it, too.  They started translating it right then and there because they were so excited about it.  Meeting them was a big blessing!

We also got referred to meet with this woman who other missionaries just met on the street. She is fascinating.  She speaks English fluently, and is very intuitive and smart.  She told us that she read the Koran on her own just to learn more about Islam.  I really love her.  She listens really well when we talk about our beliefs and has been reading everything we give her and asking for more.  She really likes everything that we are teaching and has actually been referring us to all her friends’ and neighbors’ so we can start teaching them English and the Gospel, too.  Oh my goodness!  I don’t know how we got so blessed with meeting her, but I’m really thankful we did. 🙂

Mission Moments This Week:

Bishop gave us a giftcard to a free meal at a meat buffet!  Oh my goodness!  He’s so nice!  It was so good!  You just choose a bunch of different meats and then you cook it at this charcoal grill right there at your table and just dip it in a bunch of different sauces and things.  Mmmmmm!  It was awesome!  Meat is pretty expensive in Korea so we usually don’t buy that much of it as missionaries.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

This is an ice cream sandwich with red beans inside of it in the shape of a fish.  I took a picture of it because it started looking really pretty scary after a couple bites–haha!  It’s really good though.  I would have never thought red beans would make such a delicious dessert item, but they’re awesome!

This is really the Lord’s work, and I know that even in the really hard times, Heavenly Father is there. Hope you have a good week!

❤ Sister Stastny

