Cherry Blossoms

This week was really fantastic!  The Cherry trees have bloomed!  I never thought I had a favorite tree, but I love cherry blossoms so much.  They make the streets looks like Heaven because they are so white and they smell so good.  I love them!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I have a quick story to share with you this week on listening to the Spirit. So we were walking home one night when we passed this girl walking the other direction.  I said “Hi” to her, and she smiled and we kept on walking.  As we were walking, though, I got this big feeling that I needed to go back to her- but I felt like that would be super creepy if I did.  It would be so easy to keep on walking because Sister H was busy on the phone, but I felt like I needed to go back to her.

So I turned around, and literally ran until I caught up with her, then I think I yelled, “Where are you going?” (because it’s one of the few phrases I know how to say in Korea).  She said something that I couldn’t understand and pointed, and I smiled and nodded like I understood and said, “Great.”  Then I just stood there and I couldn’t think of anything to say.  My mouth was open but I didn’t have anything to say.  Sister H came up and said that we were missionaries, asked a question, then said goodnight and that was it.

As we were walking home after that I thought about why I had felt such a strong prompting to talk to someone without really receiving the ability to do so.  I didn’t feel weird about what I did at all, which is interesting because usually I would feel a little creepy running back to a random person and yelling a question at them…but I felt good.  I just felt this big love for the girl that just jumped out of me.

I think the purpose of me being prompted to go back to her was for the Lord to see if I was willing to listen to the promptings of the Spirit and put my faith before my fears.  Even though nothing really seemed to happen from it (we didn’t even get her name or give her a card argh!)  I think we made her happier that night.  I think my faith has grown a lot from that simple experience.

I keep on thinking back to the story of Moses in Exodus, and how he is “slow of speech, and of a slow tongue,”  but the Lord provides a way for him to accomplish what he has commanded still.  In Moses’ case it was Aaron, his interpreter; and in mine I think it is Sister H, my trainer.  When the understanding and words I want to say just don’t come, Sister H is there to make sure that the Lord’s work still gets done.  I know God put her into my life for a reason, and I’m so thankful for it!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Our ward had an activity this week at this Korean cultural center. We took our investigator who is absolutely lovely. The place was beautiful! All the missionaries were dressed up in traditional Korean dresses (I think they are called hanbok’s) and then the ward took pictures of us like they were the papparazi or something.  Funnest, weirdest ward activity ever. (Click below to see full pictures and captions)

Me dressed up in my Korean queen outfit (the headpiece made me feel like Princess Amidalla from Star Wars.  It was fun)

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

We went to a place in China town with a member and her friend who she’s wanting to introduce the Gospel too.  We had dinner inside this place then took some pictures outside haha.  It went really good! Member missionary work always seems to be the most successful. We’re going to meet with her this week to start teaching the lessons!

I love Korea so much and I love missionary work even more!  It’s so cool!  Everyday we have so many miracles.  It’s the best!

Love you lots!

Sister Stastny

 

