I Believe

안녕하세요! (annyeonghaseyo…or Hello)

Well this week has been rad!  We got to teach some Koreans over Skype.  It was a different experience, but so fun.  I understand some of what our volunteer was saying, so that’s a plus.

We took an LSA this week (a Language Speaking Assessment) where we are given prompts that we are supposed to talk about in Korean. I’m pretty sure I got the lowest score in the class, but my teachers wrote and told me I have a lot of confidence and enthusiasm when I speak, and that will help me a lot as I continue to strive to learn the language.  That was nice of them.  I feel pretty animated during our lessons because I want our investigator (i.e. our Korean teacher here) to understand what I want to say, even if I can’t say it. Ahh!  I get way too into it!  I use my hands a lot, but our lessons are never boring.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
Our Korean Branch

This week, during a lesson on the Law of Chastity I said, “Ducks’ bodies are temples.”

What!?  I feel so blasphemous.  I really need to work on my pronunciation.  The thing about this was that no one even told me until later that night.

My teacher just said, “You were trying so hard and I didn’t want to laugh and make you feel bad.”

Haha! I hope the people in Korea pity me enough to listen to my message.  I know I’ll get the language someday 🙂

In other news, I read an article from the New York Times this week that spotlighted a couple sister missionaries serving in South Korea.  One of the Korean teachers here, (Sister Sagers- who is a genius that helps me with my Korean so much) was interviewed in it along with some other people we know so our branch sent us copies.  I just want to say a couple things about it to anyone who may read this letter:

The issue of more Sisters serving missions is not about feminism; it’s about Christ.

    “And we talk of Christ, we rejoice in Christ, we preach of Christ, we prophesy of Christ, and we write according to our prophecies, that our children may know to what source they may look for a remission of their sins.”  -(2 Nephi 25:26, Book of Mormon)

This is what we do as missionaries.  It is the same regardless of gender, ethnicity, economic status, or whatever seems to separate people in the world. Anyone who is too worried or intrigued by feminism in the church, is missing the point, which is much greater and more glorious than probably anyone can fully understand:

  • About 2000 years ago Jesus Christ lived on the Earth.
  • He was crucified.  He was resurrected.
  • He lives.
  • He lives and directs our Church through Prophets and Apostles just as he did in older times.
  • His Gospel is our Gospel, and it is the same Gospel that was given to Adam and Eve at the genesis of mankind.

I believe this and nothing can shake me from my faith. I may not know a lot of things, but I know that what I am doing is a much nobler work than the world thinks it is.  I get to talk about the LIVING Christ every day!  I can’t think of anything better.  I am lacking nothing.

If anyone does want to know more about women in the Church I would suggest that they read Power in the Priesthood by Elder Neil A. Anderson of the quorum of the twelve apostles, read what members of the church feel about the issue on Mormon.org, or study what we believe in the Book of Mormon and pray to God for more direction. I promise that will never fail.

I really do love this Gospel.  It means the world to me.

Sister Stastny

