Ducks and Joy

안녕하세요!

(I finally learned how to write in Korean on the computer contraption)

This week has been awesome.  First off,  I have an awesome story for you.  This morning we went to the temple and after our session we went to eat breakfast in the Temple cafeteria (which tastes SO good after weeks of processed MTC food).  While in the cafeteria, we started talking to some people to see how they were doing and try to brighten their day.  So we meet this lady in the cafeteria who had hosted an exchange student from Busan, South Korea (that’s where Orme 자매님 (Sister Orme) went for her mission this week!).

She told us that she had taken this girl around temple square and a bunch of other sites and she just loved it.  All she had ever known was Buddhism, so being introduced to Christianity was really exciting for her.  She even asked the lady why there weren’t more missionaries from our church in Korea because she loved it.  It was great!  So we got the name of this lady and the name of this Korean girl, and she promised she would send us more of her contact information so missionaries in Korea could invite her and her family to learn more about the Gospel.

It was amazing!  We got a referral for the missionaries in Korea even though we’re still in the Provo MTC.  How wonderful is that!  I’m coming to learn that there aren’t coincidences in missionary work. The people I’ve met here are put into my life for a reason. I’m really thankful I opened my mouth and talked to this lady in the temple cafeteria.  Now we can pray for her and her Korean friend. Woo-hoo!  I love praying for people!

In other news, a couple of the older groups from our branch (including Orme 자매님) left for Korea this last Monday.  I am seriously so excited to go to Korea.  I’m not very good at Korean, but I am pretty good at being happy and sharing my love of the gospel with others.

The group of Korean natives were giving everyone Korean names and mine was 기쁨. Hopefully I spelled that right. It translates to JOY in English.  Yahh!

Haha. I learned this week that I’ve been accidentally saying 어리 “ducks” instead of 우리 “we”.  Ahh! So I’ve been saying things like:

“I know that if ducks keep the commandments, ducks will be happy” and “God loves ducks very much!”

My district always jokes with me because if you pronounce God wrong, too, you could easily say, “Hippo.”  So one could say a prayer that starts off, “Father Hippo, please bless the ducks!”  That would be great.  Oh man, learning a new language is fun.  I really do love it.

I hope you all are doing well.  Stay safe!  Have fun!  Do good!

사랑해요! (sarangheyo!)

스태스니 자매
(Sister Stastny)

