Inviting others to Christ

Hi everybody!

Thank you so much for your letters and “Dear Elder” letters.  They make my day every time I get one!

This week we had a group of native Koreans come to the MTC.  They are honestly the cutest human beings on the planet.  One of the sisters is from New Zealand and is pretty good at English.  One night I went to talk to her after a rough day of studying Korean all day, but not making much progress. She told me a story about how the missionaries that converted her Father were terrible at Korean.  One missionary had been out a while, but had the worse pronunciation, and the other missionary was fairly new and didn’t know any Korean.  She said that even though her father didn’t understand what the missionaries were saying, he felt the Spirit so strongly that he knew their message was true, and was baptized into the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

Our leaders are constantly reminding us that our purpose is not to speak Korean; our purpose is to invite others to Christ.  Korean is just a tool to do that.  I’m trying to remember that so I don’t get discouraged when I’m having trouble with the language.

In other news, Janice Kapp Perry came and spoke at Relief Society on Sunday.  She wrote A Child’s Prayer, I Love to See the Temple, Love is Spoken Here, I’m trying to be like Jesus, and tons more wonderful songs.  A Child’s Prayer is my favorite, so it was amazing to meet the woman who wrote it.  I love music.

My companions and I joined the MTC Choir so we can get out of our classroom for a little while. It is honestly one of the best decisions we have made yet.  The Choir director is brilliant.  He’s always cracking jokes and expounding on the doctrines in the songs.  It makes the music way more powerful.

My district is fun.  My companions and I are the only sisters in the group so sometimes the Elders are crazy, but it’s funny. This week, during study time we were listening to LDS Radio and You Raise Me Up by Josh Groban came on. All the elders started singing and flapping their arms.  It was bizarre, but hilarious.

This week during personal study I read in the Bible Dictionary about Prayer, Fear, and Isaiah. I highly suggest that you read those sections if you haven’t because it’s AMMAZZINGG!  The section on prayer is especially powerful.

I was also reading in Jesus the Christ this week and I came across this quote that is beautiful.  It says:

The Purposes of God, as they ever have been and ever shall be, are infinitely superior to the deepest designs of men of devils.

How awesome is that!?

I’m sorry this is kind of short and that there are no pictures (I forgot my camera).  I just want you all to know that you are consistently in my prayers and I love you all! Send me “Dear Elder” letters so I feel special!

Love you!
Sister Stastny

