Spirit Paradise

How is life for everyone? Life in the MTC is pretty #swagalicious (that’s for my brother). The food is not gross, but everyone complains about it. Sometimes it’s cold or hard as a rock, but there are lots of delicious options so it’s never a big deal. The orange juice does not give you diarrhea FYI. They have ice cream at lunch sometimes—which is awesome.

Some people call the MTC Spirit Prison because you’re usually in a small brick room for 9-12 hours a day studying, but I believe it’s Spirit Paradise. I do have to admit though that I get really excited when we go outside and I see real life trees! Just kidding…kind of.  I have hugged a tree ‘cause it looked so cuddly.

I think we get to go to the Provo Temple every P-day. The Provo Temple is gorgeous inside. It’s so much bigger than the Boise Temple, but all temples are amazing because they’re the Lord’s House.

We have 80+ people in our branch (the Korean Celestial Branch is what we’re called—ha ha). Everyone I have talked to has plans of doing the Gangnam style dance if we are called to the Gangnam district in Seoul (but secretly in a dark corner so no one judges us as missionaries). Ha ha.

We got a bunch of Korean natives going to serve in Seoul a couple days ago. They’re here for two weeks and they are seriously the cutest people in the world! They all know a little bit of English, so I can say more than just “Hello! My name is Sister Stastny. God loves you!” to them

Something interesting about Koreans is they don’t take compliments. For instance, if you’re a man and someone tells you that your wife is beautiful, you say, “No, she’s ugly.” It’s just humble and polite over there.

One of the Korean girls told me that they would love me over there because I’d be a “blonde babe.”

I was like, “Well, thank you!” I might have to work on being more humble. Ha ha.

The Korean language has a million different ways to say the same thing depending on who you talk to. They’re teaching us the highest (hardest) form because we’re supposed to speak honorific to most people. One of the MTC presidents told us that besides Finnish and Navajo, Korean was the hardest language to learn. Yah!

It’s going good though. I can’t believe how much I know already! Have a good week. I’ve tried to Korean-ize your names!  Not sure if it’s right, but have fun.

  • Curtis = Cuh-teesh =커티스 
  • Jessica = Jeh-shee-ka = 제시카
  • Christina = Cuh-suh-teen-ah =크리스티나 
  • Dad = Ah-bah = 아빠
  • Mom = Oh-ma = 엄마

Sarang Hamnida (I love you) 사랑해요

Stastny Cha-may (Sister)

