I’m Alive!

SAM_0025
Posing in my classroom by the Korean flag #swag

Hey everyone!  How have you been!  P-day is Thursday (we didn’t get one last week so that’s why you haven’t heard from me yet). Thanks for the Dear Elder letters.  They are the best to get!

The MTC is amazing!  We study about 9-12 hours a day, but it’s totally worth it because we are learning so much!  The second day everybody was reading and writing in Korean, and the 3rd day we were teaching to a Korean.  Eek!  It was really hard and I didn’t understand what He was saying to us, but it was my 3rd day.

I’m in a trio-companionship with Sister Hurst (a tall short-haired blonde who has already studied Korean, taken 5 years of Chinese, and traveled to Asia), and Sister McNatt (a short brunette who has studied Japanese for a couple of years and traveled to Asia also).  They are such a blessing in my life and help me out so much with the language!  They’re wonderful!

SAM_0022
My companions and I at temple

There are so many people going to Korea.  We actually have had one of the biggest branches in the MTC (there are 80 people right now in it).  It’s going to be interesting to see how many people are actually in my mission.   I’m excited for it.

The Korean language is hard, really hard.  My companions think it’s harder than Japanese and Chinese…but it’s beautiful.  We’re learning the highest form of Korean right now (which is the hardest because honorific form is longer than common and low form).

SAM_0012
Our names. In Korean they say (last name) Sister, instead of Sister (last name).

My favorite word in Korean is “Ha-na-neem Ah-poh-jee”.  Heavenly Father.  I wish I could write it in Korean, but I’m not sure how to on the computer.  Oh well!

My second favorite word, by the way, is “hew-sheek,” because it means “break” and I love breaks!

SAM_0026
My MTC nametag! When I go to Korea they are going to write my name in Korean–Stastny will probably translate to “sa-ta-sa-nee”! Pumped!

The devotionals here are amazing!  We had Sheri Dew and Gerald Causse (the 1st Counselor in the Presiding Bishopric) come and speak to us. Brother Causse said something that I love. I’ll try to sum it up from my notes:

The Lord isn’t looking for those who are already strong, he’s looking for those who are inadequate because they rely on the Lord, and He can shape them into who He wants them to be. 

SAM_0019
This is the classroom where we live during the day.

Oh, I had to give the closing prayer during Sacrament meeting on Sunday…in Korean.  I thought I was going to pass out, but I prayed before that I would be able to say my prayer okay in Korean (it was pray-ception), and heavenly father helped me say exactly what I wanted to say.  After I said amen the room burst out in “Good job! Nice prayer!”  It was strange, but nice. My Branch Presidency was so proud of me. Haha I love them.

SAM_0027
When the going gets rough, you have breakfast and candy for lunch with your companions. I regret nothing.

I’m doing good!  I have a lot more to learn, but I’m excited for it! I love you and I’m praying for all of you!

Sister Stastny

